ON FRIENDSHIP AND FACEBOOK

It was a school friend who invited me onto Facebook in early 2008. I was interested, but didn’t really see the possibilities, until I lost my job the following December. Within a few months my son had been diagnosed with aspergers syndrome and I was working with the Child Benefit protest group PACUB, and Facebook became the hub for special needs support and on-line campaigning.

PACUB is now dormant, but the friendships I made are not, and some have now become autism mums too. And it is the autism mums that I turn to on a daily basis because even though I also have a severely disabled daughter, it is autism that dominates my life.

 

Read more here

 

 

Leave a Reply

