7 things my mother taught me

I’ve been thinking about my Mum again, perhaps because Mother’s Day was last Sunday in Ireland and the UK, but there were other reasons too: sad news about other people’s parents and friends, and the screening of a new version of the Cornish historical drama Poldark, that I couldn’t bring myself to watch, because I watched the original series with my Mum in the long ago 1970s. She sadly died before this blog was born, though we’d been losing her one memory at a time for a number of years, and while the grief was knife-sharp at first, it has faded over time to a dull ache. But now and again something happens that makes it flare up and catch me unawares.

Read more here:

2 thoughts on “7 things my mother taught me

  1. tric says:

    What a lovely tribute to your mom. Sorry for your loss. I can imagine how Mothers Day would bring up so many memories.

Leave a Reply

