She’s emigrating

It was a phone call out of the blue.  A friend is leaving Ireland for work, a young woman I’ve known since she was very young.  I’ve read plenty of articles about sons and daughters leaving, but this time it’s very close to home.  Next summer I could be saying goodbye to my eldest daughter, as she leaves College to shape her own future.  It’s unsettling.  I’ve waved good-bye to Angel before as she left for adventures in Africa and Rhode Island.  But she always came back.

 

Read more here

Leave a Reply

